Looking for advice about a larger coil.

Go down

Looking for advice about a larger coil.

Post by rusty gates on Fri 24 Nov 2017, 4:16 pm

Hi everyone

I'm new to gold prospecting and metal detectors. After my first trip a month ago, where I hired a Minelab GPX5000, I have now bought myself a secondhand GPX5000, which came with an 11" Commander mono, an 11" commander DD and a Nuggetfinder 14" elliptical Advantage coil.

I've just come back from 6 days working my lease and after 2 days with the 11" mono, I switched to the 14" NF (mainly because the insulation on the 11" Commander was perishing).

So far I've found a couple of small nuggets (1.2 and 6.1gm) and I was thinking that once I've worked an area with the current coil, would it be worth investing in a larger coil, maybe an 18 - 20" mono, and going over that ground again, in the hope of finding some deeper gold that wasn't detected with the current coils.

Is that a reasonable approach to take???

Thanks in advance of your answers.

regards
Rusty...

rusty gates

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for advice about a larger coil.

Post by Bignuggs on Fri 24 Nov 2017, 5:28 pm

A bigger coil can be called a patch finder but I wouldn't use it as your full time coil. You would need to switch back to a smaller coil and do the patch again.
Trial and error is my method with coils. Find which one works best with the detector.

cheers

Forum Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by rusty gates on Fri 24 Nov 2017, 5:33 pm

Thanks Bignuggs

Would you suggest using the larger coil first, to locate a 'patch' or to find deeper gold, then go over that area again with a smaller coil, to find the smaller/shallower nuggets??

Rusty...

rusty gates

Back to top Go down

Post by Bignuggs on Fri 24 Nov 2017, 5:38 pm

I've watched a 5000 user with a 17x? coil find small gold but to get the rest of it, they switched over to the 8x6 sadie.